Hot Weather in Store for Southwestern BC

Posted July 13, 2018

While hot and sunny conditions are welcomed news for most, Environment and Climate Change Canada and Medical Health Officers are reminding residents to take precautions to protect themselves from the heat. Keep cool by:

  • Spending time in an air-conditioned facility (such as a shopping centre, library, community centre or restaurant) for at least several hours every day.
  • Dress for the weather by wearing loose, light-weight clothing. Protect yourself from the sun by wearing a wide-brimmed hat and sunglasses.
  • Avoid sunburn, stay in the shade or use sunscreen with SPF 30 or more
  • NEVER leave children or pets alone in a parked car.
  • Check in on others - People living alone are at high risk of severe heat related illness.  
 > Home > Things To Do > Be Involved In Burnaby > Citizen Recognition > Kushiro Cup > Kushiro Cup History

Things To Do

Was this page helpful? Yes | No

Kushiro Cup History


In the fall of 1982, Professor Takayoshi Makino, the head of the Languages Department of the University of Hokkaido, accompanied a group of 16 students from his English class to British Columbia for a five-day “Canadian Experience”. Professor Makino brought with him a trophy from Mayor Wanibuchi of Kushiro. The trophy was given to Mayor Bill Lewarne, and has since been used each year to honour the contributions of Burnaby’s Outstanding Citizen of the Year. Mayor Lewarne proposed that a similar cup be offered to Kushiro to be used to honour annually an outstanding citizen. This cup is awarded each year in Kushiro and is called the Burnaby Cup.

Past Kushiro Cup Award Recipients

1982: Donald Copan
1983: Una E. Carlson
1984: David Mercier
1985: Sylvia Stillwell
1986: Gail Yip
1987: Pearl McPhee
1988: Rachael (Ray) Ribchester
1989: Evelyn Salisbury
1990: Donald Wrigley
1991: Ken Legge
1992: Don and Helen Brown
1993: Harry Pride
1994: Donna Nosella
1995: Thomas Mark
1996: Linda Gravlin
1997: Joan Hess
1998: Ray Abernethy
1999: Keith Harris
2000: Phil Henderson
2001: Pixie McGeachie
2002: Grace Joe
2003: Cice Brown
2004: Les Lee Lowe
2005: Dennis Brown
2006: Nancy Thomas
2007: Gloria Inglis
2008: Ruby Johnson
2009: Chris Hildred
2010: Gloria Kravac
2011: Kehar Singh Aujla
2012: Lou Beaubien 
2013: Georgie Cole
2014: Elsie Dean
2015: George Kawaguchi
2016: Jim & Lindy McQueen
2017: Douglas (Bill) Corson           
City of Kushiro, Japan