COVID-19 in Burnaby

For COVID-19 information, resources and impacts on City services, visit

Things To Do

Was this page helpful? Yes | No

Kushiro Cup History


In the fall of 1982, Professor Takayoshi Makino, the head of the Languages Department of the University of Hokkaido, accompanied a group of 16 students from his English class to British Columbia for a five-day “Canadian Experience”. Professor Makino brought with him a trophy from Mayor Wanibuchi of Kushiro. The trophy was given to Mayor Bill Lewarne, and has since been used each year to honour the contributions of Burnaby’s Outstanding Citizen of the Year. Mayor Lewarne proposed that a similar cup be offered to Kushiro to be used to honour annually an outstanding citizen. This cup is awarded each year in Kushiro and is called the Burnaby Cup.

Past Kushiro Cup Award Recipients

2020: Simone Brandl
2019: Ruth Gautschi
2018: Laida Falsetto
2017: Douglas (Bill) Corson      
2016: Jim & Lindy McQueen
2015: George Kawaguchi
2014: Elsie Dean
2013: Georgie Cole
2012: Lou Beaubien 
2011: Kehar Singh Aujla
2010: Gloria Kravac
2009: Chris Hildred
2008: Ruby Johnson
2007: Gloria Inglis
2006: Nancy Thomas
2005: Dennis Brown
2004: Les Lee Lowe
2003: Cice Brown
2002: Grace Joe
2001: Pixie McGeachie
2000: Phil Henderson
1999: Keith Harris
1998: Ray Abernethy
1997: Joan Hess
1996: Linda Gravlin
1995: Thomas Mark
1994: Donna Nosella
1993: Harry Pride
1992: Don and Helen Brown
1991: Ken Legge
1990: Donald Wrigley
1989: Evelyn Salisbury
1988: Rachael (Ray) Ribchester
1987: Pearl McPhee
1986: Gail Yip
1985: Sylvia Stillwell
1984: David Mercier
1983: Una E. Carlson
1982: Donald Copan
City of Kushiro, Japan