City of Burnaby Official Election results are in

Last updated: October 19, 2022

On October 15, 2022, eligible voters went to the polls to elect 8 City Councillors and 7 School Board Trustees. The official election results are as follows: 

Office of Councillor

Alison GU 17,342
James WANG 13,025
Pietro CALENDINO 12,496
Sav DHALIWAL 12,337
Joe KEITHLEY 11,383
Maita SANTIAGO 11,349
Richard T. LEE 11,231
Daniel TETRAULT 10,893

Office of School Trustee

Gary WONG 18,618
Jen MEZEI 17,391
Kristin SCHNIDER 17,232
Peter CECH 16,057
Mikelle SASAKAMOOSE 14,974
Larry HAYES 14,106

All offices will be held for a four-year term.

Mike Hurley was acclaimed to the role of mayor and will be sworn in for a new term along with newly elected councillors in a ceremony on November 2, 2022 at Michael J. Fox Theatre. More information will be provided shortly. 

The community opinion questions to dedicate the following lands as park were voted in the affirmative:

  • Cariboo and Brunette River Conservation Lands 
  • Stoney Creek Park and Trail System 
  • Deer Lake Park 
  • Burnaby Lake Park System 

Chief Election Officer, Lynne Axford officially certified the results on October 19, 2022. 

Voter turnout in the 2022 Local Government Election was 19.71%, with 32,286 ballots cast. Detailed official results will be presented in a report to Council on October 24, 2022. 

Learn more:

Burnaby Election Office
604-294-7088 | [email protected] 

Media contact:
Chris Bryan
Manager, Public Affairs
Public Affairs Office
604-570-3616 | [email protected]

Was this page useful?